TFI Communications Technology Asset Valuation Conference


Michael Heaton

Director, Duff & Phelps

TFI Asset Valuation Conference Speaker: Mike Heaton, Dir., Duff & Phelps

Michael Heaton is a Director in the Austin office of Duff & Phelps, LLC and is a member of the Specialty Tax Practice. Professional Experience. Michael has 30 years of property tax experience in the utility sector. This includes 21 years of experience in the telecommunications industry. His experience includes valuation analysis, property tax appeals, negotiations, litigation support and testimony before state Boards and Courts.

Prior to joining Duff & Phelps LLC, Michael was the Director of property tax for Sprint Nextel Corporation. He was responsible for directing all property tax department poli-cies, practices and procedures including: decisions impacting property tax compliance, negotiation, appeals, litigation and legislation.

During his 20 years at Sprint, Michael was involved in the merger of Nextel and numerous affiliates into Sprint as well as the spin-off of the Local Telephone companies owned by Sprint.

Prior to Sprint Nextel Corporation Michael was the Assistant Director of Complex Pro-erty of the Texas State Property Tax Board (SPTB). He was responsible for directing the valuation activities of the State Property Tax Board’s utility, mineral and commercial valuation sections.

Prior to the SPTB Michael was a Property Tax Specialist for the Nebraska Department of Revenue. He was responsible for the evaluation of Utility companies and providing testimony before the State Board on valuation issues.

Michael has made presentations at Wichita State – Appraisal for Ad Valorem Tax, NAPTR-TEC, IAAO and BTI.

Education & Certifications include a B.A. - Accounting and Finance; University of Nebraska, Lincoln, and numerous IAAO, SREA, AIRA, and IPT courses. Professional associations & affiliations include Wichita State - Appraisal for Ad Valorem Tax - Past Planning Committee Member; NAPTR – TEC - Positions held - Secretary, Vice President, President and Director; IAAO - member of the Associates Member Committee; IPT - member; and BTI - member.